RUBY SPEECHLEY was born in Lisbon, Portugal, and was brought up in a British-Portuguese family. She has an MA in creative writing from Sheffield Hallam and is a Faber Academy alumna. Her work has been longlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction prize, The Bath Novel Award and Caledonia Novel Award, amongst others. She also won Best Opening Chapter at the York Festival of Writing in 2017. Ruby’s debut novel, Someone Else’s Baby was published by Hera Books in July 2019. It is a chilling psychological thriller about a young woman who becomes a surrogate but finds that her act of kindness comes with devastating consequences. Her second novel, Every Little Secret was published in April 2020.

SOMEONE ELSE’S BABY

She gave away her children. Now she wants them back.

Charlotte Morgan knows how it feels to desperately want a baby. As a child, seeing her mum devastated by losing her longed-for babies, Charlotte wished another woman could give her mother what she so craved.

Now Charlotte’s a mum herself, and knowing how much love her daughter, Alice, brings into her life, she vows to help others achieve their dreams of becoming a parent.

When she meets Malcolm and Brenda on a surrogacy website, it seems she’s found the perfect couple. In their late forties, they have wealth and an enviable life, but there’s one thing missing – a child of their own.

When Charlotte falls pregnant with twins, the pair are overjoyed. And while Charlotte’s heart breaks as she hands them over, her reward is knowing how much happiness the two tiny babies are going to bring into their life.

But are Malcolm and Brenda all they seem? As secrets become unravelled, Charlotte is forced to face that she has given her children to virtual strangers. And when Malcolm and Brenda disappear without a trace, Charlotte is plunged into a frantic search for the babies she carried – before it’s too late…

A gripping psychological thriller with a heart stopping ending – readers of The Wife Between Us, Rachel Abbott and C.L Taylor will not want to put this down…

Praise for Someone Else’s Baby:

‘A story which hooked me from beginning to endI couldn’t remember ever being so excited by a book.’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

It grips you from the very beginning and it’s so hard to put down…Please please read this debut novel, it’s amazing…fantastic and highly recommended’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

Tense, heart stopping and completely gripping – Ruby Speechley is one to watch.’ Angela Clarke, author of On My Life

‘A thriller that will keep you guessing the entire time!… Ruby Speechley has a talent for writing and I cannot wait to read more!’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

‘Ruby Speechley weaves a page-turning tale about a compelling subject. Be prepared to sit up into the night to finish it!’ Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

‘What a fantastic debut thriller, loved every page, very well written and I couldn’t put it down.’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

‘A gripping debut on a fascinating subject – compulsive, emotional and thought-provoking.’ Roz Watkins, author of Dead Man’s Daughter

‘The storyline is moving and compelling – it kept me turning the pages late into the night. A pacy yet emotional psychological thriller with an unexpected and deeply satisfying ending.’ Susan Elliot-Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

I loved this enthralling psychological thriller…A great debut read and I look forward to reading more from this author.’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

‘A suspenseful tale which kept me reading until the not-so-early morning hours…I devoured it in a single sitting’ Netgalley reviewer

‘A fast paced roller coaster ride…the prologue will grab you and the story intensifies as it goes on.’ (5 stars) Netgalley reviewer

‘A captivating chiller which tackles head-on the emotive subject of surrogacy, and will stay with you long after the dark drama plays out.’ Wendy Bough, founder of the Caledonia Novel Award

Ruby’s second novel, EVERY LITTLE SECRET was published on 23 April 2020.

She believed the lies… The truth will destroy her.

Maddy Saunders’ life is unravelling. After the heartbreaking, unexpected death of 5-year-old daughter Chloe, she’s trying desperately to keep her family together for other daughter, Emily. But when the police inform her that husband Max is missing, the rucksack found at the bottom of a local canal leading them to believe he has taken his own life, her grief takes a new and sharper turn.

Unable to believe that Max would abandon her and Emily, Maddy desperately searches for clues as to what has happened to her husband. But as she delves deeper into his secrets, Maddy finds a web of betrayal that forces her to re-examine everything about the life they have built together.

Maddened by grief, and forced into untangling Max’s lies, Maddy will stop at nothing to uncover the truth – even if it destroys her in the process.

WOW! Couldn’t put this one down!…Highly Recommend!!!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

absolutely blew me away. I think I may have found a new favourite author!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

I was completely swept away… This will keep you hooked until the last page. I highly recommend this book.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

How this story unfolds is just brilliant…would be any wife’s nightmare. Very twisty and a “cannot stop reading” book. Just brilliant’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘A great book that held my interest throughout, plenty of twists and turns with great characters and extremely well written.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘an intense and intriguing thriller that does not disappoint! Highly recommended!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘It was a fast paced, intriguing read. I needed to know what was going on!… It was quite a ride. I recommend to anyone who enjoys thrillers.’ Reader Review

‘a scary, chilling read. The book was very hard to put down… readers will want to stay up late at night to find out what is truth and what are the lies – highly recommended!’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend if you enjoy psychological thrillers. Very well written.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘The plot and storyline were very well done. Such a wonderful story’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘there was nothing I didn’t like about the book…the plot twists and the characters in the book were amazing. I would gladly reread it again.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

‘every chapter and alternating narrative gave us a new clue to the mystery that us readers had to unravel… A spine chilling thriller…This book will keep you up all night’ Reader Review

‘will leave you wondering how well you really know your partner… a compulsive read which pulled on my emotions…A taut, gripping read that will have you turning the pages late into the night.’ Reader Review

a gripping thriller that kept me enthralled…I liked how the story moved between the past and present and I enjoyed getting to know all the characters’ Reader Review

‘This book gripped me from the start!… It was pacy and exciting. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers.’ Reader Review

I haven’t been able to put this one down. It has gripped me and kept me guessing throughout… a fast-paced psychological thriller perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alice Feeney.’ ☆☆☆☆☆ Reader Review

Writing history:

May 2018: Longlisted for the Bath Novel Award

April 2018: Longlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize

January 2018 : Longlisted for the Caledonia Novel Award

May 2017:  Ruby won a place to ‘meet an agent’ at the International Literature Festival, Dublin.

June 2017: The first chapter of Ruby’s new novel was long listed in the Retreat West First Chapter competition.

August 2017: Ruby won Amanda Reynolds’ Close To Me/Wildfire Pitch competition (with the longer pitch above).

September 2017: Ruby won Best Opening Chapter at the Festival of Writing in York and was runner-up in the Perfect Pitch competition.

Ruby’s novel, The Weight of Stones was long listed for the Exeter Novel Prize 2017 and short listed for the Retreat West First Chapter competition 2017.

In 2016, Ruby won a place on the Character is Destiny treat with her ficional ‘Letter to Sylvia’ in a Retreat West competition.

In 2015, she won the Retreat West First Chapter competition, with her novel, The Black Garden, selected by literary agent, Jo Unwin.

In 2014 Ruby won a Retreat West short story competition. Better Left Unsaid is published in their anthology, ‘Inside These Tangles, Beauty Lies’.

Several of her short stories and flash fictions have been long listed for Fish Publishing prizes over recent years. A few have been short listed. Last year: James Dean Daydream; 2014: Payback and 2013: Mistaken.

In 2012, Final Delivery was short listed in the EarlyWorks Press prize and is published in their anthology, ‘From Barcelona to Bihar.’

In 2009, Ruby graduated with an MA in Writing from Sheffield Hallam University and went on to be mentored by Jill Dawson on the Gold Dust scheme.